CofC Logo

Academic Planning Committee

The Academic Planning Committee is composed of seven faculty members and one student. As a standing Senate Committee, at least one of the elected faculty members must be a Senator. The Provost (or Provost’s designee) and Registrar (or Registrar’s designee) are non-voting ex-officio members.

Duties of the committee include considering and recommending long-range academic programs and goals for the College. To this end, the committee gathers information from administrators, academic schools and departments, committees, program directors, and individuals within the College whom are advocating new programs and goals. The committee also gathers budgetary information necessary to evaluate the economic feasibility of new programs and goals. Because of this, the Academic Planning Committee members work closely with those of the Budget Committee. They also review and respond to plans brought by the Provost concerning the termination of programs. The members gather information necessary to evaluate the impact of program termination upon the College’s academic mission. The Chair of the Academic Planning Committee, or a designated representative, attends meetings of the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees.

(Description adapted from the Faculty/Administration Manual: Article V, Section 2.B.1)

Meeting Schedule

3:00 - 4:30 pm | ECTR 228 (Faculty Senate Conference Room)

August 23
September 20
October 18
November 15
January 17
February 21
March 21

Committee Roster

Chair: Robert Pitts - Management and Marketing

Gretchen McLaine - Theater and Dance

Amy Rogers - Chemistry and Biochemistry

Daniel Greenberg - Psychology

Jolanda van Arnhem - Library

Mary Ann Blitt - Hispanic Studies

Terence Bowers - English

Student member: TBD

Non-voting ex-officio member: Provost (or Provost's designee)

To view the online archive of records for this committee, please view the Faculty Senate Online Archives.

Have more questions? Please contact the committee chair, Robert Pitts