CofC Logo

Committee on Graduate Education

The Committee on Graduate Education is comprised of five regular faculty members, at least three of whom are also members of the Graduate Faculty. The Dean of the Graduate School, the Registrar, the Provost, and the Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning, or their designees, are non-voting ex-officio members.

The committee reviews and creates recommendations concerning graduate education policy, including faculty development programs related to graduate education. The committee reviews proposed changes in graduate programs and courses and, via the Graduate Council, forwards approvals to the Faculty Senate. The committee is responsible for providing faculty review for credit-bearing graduate level education programing not applicable to any College of Charleston graduate degree or certificate (such as non-catalog offerings of the Office of Professional Development in Education). The committee also reviews and makes recommendations concerning proposals for the termination of graduate programs brought to the committee by the Provost.

(Description adapted from the Faculty/Administration Manual, August 2017: Article V, Section 3.B.2)

Important Information

Accessing Curriculog

Curriculog is live to the campus! Access to the system is only available to faculty members through MyCharleston ( After logging in, select the Faculty tab and the Curriculog access link will be available in the middle column, along with additional helpful resources. Please contact if you have trouble logging in, or experience any other technical issues.

Resources for Graduate Education Curriculum Proposals
Sample Proposal Items
  • Syllabus statements:
    • Graduate grading scale - PDF | Word
    • Honor Code - PDF  | Word
    • American Disabilities Act - PDF  | Word

Meeting Schedule

3:00 PM | Jewish Studies Center, Room 319

September 7 Agenda | Minutes
October 5 Agenda | Minutes
November 9 Agenda | Minutes
December 4 Agenda | Minutes
January 11 Agenda | Minutes
February 8 Agenda | Minutes
March 8 Agenda | Minutes
April 5 (no curricular proposals will be considered - see curricular proposal timeline below)

  *To view the archive of records for this committee, please view the Faculty Senate Online Archives.

 Graduate Education Curricular Proposal Timeline

Note: All curricular proposals must be submitted via the Curriculog system, in MyCharleston.

Submit proposals to
Provost's Office by...
All revisions received by
Provost's Office by...
Review by Committee on
Graduate Education
Graduate Council
Approved Proposals will
be forwarded to Senate...
Senate will consider
8/17/2018 8/31/2018 9/7/2018 9/21/2018 9/21/2018 10/2/2018
9/14/2018 9/28/2018 10/5/2018 11/2/2018 11/2/2018 11/13/2018
10/19/2018 11/2/2018 11/9/2018 11/30/2018 1/3/2019 1/15/2019
11/30/2018 12/17/2018 1/11/2019 1/25/2019 1/25/2019 2/5/2019
1/18/2019 2/1/2019 2/8/2019 2/22/2019 2/22/2019 3/5/2019
2/15/2019 3/1/2019 3/8/2019 3/15/2019 3/15/2019 4/2/2019
* 4/5/2019 4/12/2019

 * No curricular proposals will be considered at the April 5th meeting. Any proposals not considered by the March 8th meeting will need to be submitted in August for consideration in Fall 2019.

Committee Roster

Chair: Sandy Slater - History

Amanda Ruth-McSwain - Communication

Adem Ali - Geology & Environmental Geosciences

Lindsey Drager - English

Kate Keeney - Arts Management

Non-voting ex-officio members: Provost (or Provost's designee), Dean of Graduate School (or Graduate Dean's designee), Registrar (or Registrar's designee), and Associate Vice President of Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning (or designee).

Have more questions? Please contact the committee chair, Sandy Slater