CofC Logo

Faculty Research and Development Committee

The Faculty Research and Development Committee is comprised of nine faculty members. The Provost, or a representative selected by the Provost, shall serve as an ex-officio member without a vote.

The committee supports and encourages faculty research, professional advancement, and development at the College. The committee also secures College-wide recognition of high quality faculty research by recommending faculty members to receive the Distinguished Research Award presented annually at Commencement. Additional responsibilities include advising the Provost concerning College programs supporting faculty research and development; to announce such programs and invite faculty to apply for support; and to recommend to the Provost awards to be made. The committee also advises the Provost, when requested, concerning proposals from faculty members for special research and development projects requiring College support. Finally, the committee serves as the patent and copyright advisory body for the College and hears individual cases involving ownership of materials subject to copyright or inventions entitled to a patent.

(Description adapted from the Faculty/Administration Manual, August 2017: Article V, Section 3.B.13)

Grant Application Information

Interested in submitting an application? Please use the following resources for current deadlines, guidelines, and required forms. 

Check out past awardees on our Award Recipients webpage.

Application Deadlines

All applications must be submitted as one electronic PDF to the Chair (Brooke Van Horn, of the Faculty Research and Development Committee by 5:00 pm of the deadline date. Additionally, the signed cover sheet (link to form below) must be submitted to the Office of the Provost (Beth Murphy, for accounting/reporting needs.

  • Round 1, Spring 2019: due on October 19, 2018 by 5:00 pm
  • Round 2, Summer 2019: due on January 18, 2019 by 5:00 pm
  • Round 3, Fall 2019: due on April 5, 2019 by 5:00 pm
  • future deadlines forthcoming
Guidelines and Forms
Proposal Examples

Committee Roster

Chair: TBA

Bourdier, Juliette - French, Francophone, and Italian Studies

Forconi, Marcello - Chemistry and Biochemistry

Hoffmann, Heath - Socioloy and Anthropology

Jestice, Phyllis - History

Kumar, Mukesh - Mathematics

Larsen, Michael - Physics and Astronomy

Madariaga, Jessica - Economics

Ross, Tom - Psychology

White, Kelley - Teacher Education

Non-voting ex-officio member: Provost (or Provost's designee)

To view the online archive of records for this committee, please view the Faculty Senate Online Archives.

Have more questions? Please contact the committee chair.