SACSCOC Reaffirmation Information

Accreditation at the College of Charleston

Regional Accreditation

The College of Charleston is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award the Artium Baccalaureatus, the Bachelor of Arts, the Bachelor of Professional Studies, the Bachelor of Science, the Master of Arts, the Master of Fine Arts, the Master of Arts in Teaching, the Master of Business Administration, the Master of Science, the Master of Education, and the Master of Public Administration.

SACSCOC is one of six regional commissions in the US that accredits degree-granting institutions. Currently, SACSCOC accredits approximately 800 institutions in 11 southern states--Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia--and in Latin America. 

“Accreditation by SACSCOC signifies that the institution:

  • has a mission appropriate to higher education;
  • has resources, programs, and services sufficient to accomplish and sustain that mission; and
  • maintains clearly specified educational objectives that are consistent with its mission and appropriate to the degrees it offers and that indicate whether it is successful in achieving its stated objectives.”

See more information on the Office for Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning's webpage for Regional Accreditation.

General Information

For more information about the College of Charleston's accreditation process, please visit the Office of Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning's (OIEP) webpage for Accreditation.