Faculty Advisory Committee to the President

The Faculty Advisory Committee to the President is made up of the following: the chair (or a designated member) from each of the Academic Planning Committee, Budget Committee, Faculty Welfare Committee, Committee on General Education, Committee on Assessment of Institutional Effectiveness, and Faculty Compensation Committees, together with six additional faculty members, at least one of whom shall be an adjunct faculty member.

The committee meets regularly to advise the President of faculty on opinions concerning all issues and matters at the College that the committee considers of importance to the faculty and to the institution. The committee also receives requests from the President for advice and counsel regarding matters that do not fall within the purview of the Faculty Senate or of any other standing Senate or College committee, or may call for action by the President. The exchange between the committee and the President includes such matters as the selection of a commencement speaker and the award of honorary degrees.

(Description adapted from the Faculty/Administration Manual, August 2017: Article V, Section 3.B.10)

Meeting Dates

Fall 2019
August 26
September 16
October 21
November 11

Committee Roster

Chair: Laura Turner - Theater and Dance

Hughes, Melissa - Biology 

Kaplan, Ferris - Management and Marketing 

Litvin, Stephen - Hospitality and Tourism Management 

Podolsky, Robert - Biology 

Rogers, Kathleen - English

Elected adjunct faculty member: 

Chair of the Academic Planning Committee: Daniel Greenberg

Chair of the Budget Committee: Scott Harris

Chair of the Faculty Welfare Committee:  David Boucher

Chair of the Committee on General Education: Richard Lavrich

Chair of the Committee on Assessment of Institutional Effectiveness: Stephen Short

Chair of the Faculty Compensation Committee: Devon Hanahan

To view the online archive of records for this committee, please view the Faculty Senate Online Archives.

Have more questions? Please contact the committee chair, Laura Turner.