Faculty Welfare Committee

The Faculty Welfare Committee consists of eight faculty members and one adjunct faculty member.

The committee is responsible for ensuring that the College of Charleston maintains policies regarding the welfare of faculty at large. These responsibilities include maintaining welfare policies related to employment, working conditions, tenure and promotion, workloads, summer and evening school employment, sabbatical leave, leaves of absence, and fringe benefits. These fringe benefits would include state retirement, health insurance, medical and dental benefits, life insurance, annuities (state and/or privately sponsored programs), Social Security benefits, and all other programs of a like nature. In order to fulfill its responsibilities, the committee shall gather statistics regarding such benefits at other state institutions, as well as information on current and pending legislation, regulation, and programs related to faculty welfare, and present this data annually to the Senate.

(Description adapted from the Faculty/Administration Manual, August 2017: Article V, Section 3.B.4)

Meeting Schedule

January 23, 2020 ( 2 pm | Addlestone Library, Room 340)

Committee Roster

Chair: Beth GoodierCommunication 

Carroll, Thomas - Health and Human Performance 

Covert, Lisa - History 

Hashemi, Navid - Computer Science

McLaine, Gretchen - Theater and Dance 

Soyeh, Kenneth - Finance 

Vinas De Puig, Ricard - Hispanic Studies

Kunke, Thomas - Mathematics 

Elected adjunct faculty member: Chadwick, Claire - Geology and Environmental Geosciences

To view the online archive of records for this committee, please view the Faculty Senate Online Archives.

Have more questions? Please contact the committee chair, Beth Goodier